5/10/18

Misconduct by Penelope Douglas Review

23605463
Title: Misconduct
Author: Penelope Douglas

Format: Audio book
Publication Date: December 1st, 2015
Former tennis player Easton Bradbury is trying to be the best teacher she can be, trying to reach her bored students and trying to forget her past. What brought her to this stage in her life isn’t important. She can’t let it be. But now one parent-teacher meeting may be her undoing…

Meeting Tyler Marek for the first time makes it easy for Easton to see why his son is having trouble in school. The man knows how to manage businesses and wealth, not a teenage boy. Or a young teacher, for that matter, though he tries to. And yet…there is something about him that draws Easton in—a hint of vulnerability, a flash of attraction, a spark that might burn.

Wanting him is taboo. Needing him is undeniable. And his long-awaited touch will weaken Easton’s resolve—and reveal what should stay hidden…


Ex-Tennis star Easton meets a mysterious man at a Mardi Gras ball. When she leaves he makes promises of things about when they meet again that Easton never thinks he will follow up on, because when will she ever see him again? Fast forward three months later. Easton has a new job as a History teacher at a private school and is meeting the students and parents and who walks in? The man from the ball and it turns out he is very powerful. Trying to keep their relationship strictly business for her student and his son's sake was failed at the start. And then when weird things start occurring related to Easton's past she realizes she might be in danger.

I seem to always love Penelope Douglas's female characters. I loved and related a lot to Easton. Not to mention I love that name. She is strong, witty, and very powerful, but not over baringly so. It seems like in todays age, with all the feminism going on, they over do female characters, but this one didn't. I also loved Christian, the kid. He was very much a typical teenager and even though we weren't reading through his point of view, we still got to see the typical teenage emotions and situations he went through. He was also funny as hell! And overall, the writing was great, as always. She handles pacing and words very well. 

I had several things I didn't like, however. First being Tyler Merrick, the male lead. And if you read my review on Bully, you know I hated Jared. I think it is a common occurrence for a Douglas book for me to hate the male character. It seems like she tries to give them flaw and let them make mistakes, but the mistakes end up being unforgivable to me and I am not even happy when he appears to make up for it, because I still feel it wasn't enough. Where I did like the writing and pacing, I felt like the plot kind of fell for me. There was way too much focus on sexual scenes than actual plot. Which the sexual scenes were hot, but the plot was all but forgotten sometimes. Like in the end, it wasn't really wrapped up for me. The fate of one of the characters that had been a big part of the book was left hanging, having no idea what happened to them. And the Epilogue served no purpose what so ever.

Overall I gave this book 3 out of 5 Stars. I did like the writing and some of the characters, but I couldn't sit well with Tyler or the ending. I would have given it a 4 if I had known what happened to that character.
Penelope Douglas
Find Penelope Douglas online:
Buy Moonshot online:



5/9/18

Waiting on Wednesday

Waiting on Wednesday is hosted by Breaking the Spine
"Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.


36578619Title: No Tomorrow
Author: Carian Cole

Release Date: June 2018
The people we love are thieves.
They steal our hearts. They steal our breath.
They steal our sanity.
And we let them.
Over and over and over again.

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

They say you never forget your first time.
Mine was with a homeless musician who effed my brains out under a bridge.

He was my first love. And sixteen years later, I still can’t get him out of my head.

He broke all my rules.
He also broke my heart.

I watched him climb to stardom, cheering him on from afar.
But I was never a fan; just a girl in love.

Like a tornado, he spiraled, leaving a path of destruction in his wake.

But love conquers all, right? It has to. Because here I stand, ravaged and ruined, needing it to be true.

You can’t go back, but I want to. Back to the bridge. Back to when he sang only for me. Before he was famous. Before he shattered my heart.

I thought I knew everything about him.
But I could not have been more wrong.

He promised me every tomorrow. And here I am, waiting.
And hoping.
Again.



I haven't heard of this author, or even much about this book. I came across it on goodreads and it sounds amazing. I hope it lives up to my expectations!


4/19/18

Moonshot by Alessandra Torre Review


27872890Title: Moonshot
Author: Alessandra Torre

Format: Ebooks
Publication Date: July 4th, 2016
Baseball isn’t supposed to be a game of life and death…

The summer that Chase Stern entered my life, I was seventeen. The daughter of a legend, the Yankees were my family, their stadium my home, their dugout my workplace. My focus was on the game. Chase... he started out as a distraction. A distraction with sex appeal poured into every inch of his six foot frame. A distraction who played like a god and partied like a devil.

I tried to stay away. I couldn’t.

Then, the team started losing.
Women started dying.
And everything in my world broke apart.


Since she was 7 years old Tyler Rollins has ate, slept, and breathed Yankees. Her father being one of the best pitchers in the league, she got to travel with, what she considers, the greatest baseball team on Earth. Tyler was perfectly happy with her life, when the only thing she had to worry about was how she was going to stay in the dugout when she graduated, being too old to continue being the ballgirl. That was until Chase Stern entered her life and changed everything.

This was my first Alessandra Torre book, though I have several. And I really did enjoy it. I have watched Torre's YouTube channel for awhile now (and if you are a writer, I strongly suggest you go check her out!), but it was only when I had an idea for a NA book that I actually picked up the first book. I LOVE her writing style. It flows well, not ever choppy, which in these books are rare to find. It is very relateable and keeps you interested. She gives you all the information you need without you getting bored and skipping ahead. (Am I the only one who does that?) And her characters are something else. I loved the relationship between Ty and her father. She gives you a prologue, showing that it was strained as a child and then shows you how unbelievably close they become. That alone makes me want to cry, because it was so beautiful. And of course I loved the character of Chase. And want to know what I loved the most about him? He wasn't perfect! I feel that many of the NA men are perfect with maybe on flaw that disappears after being mentioned. Chase knows who he is and his flaws make him Chase. And as much as it bothered me while reading, I like how Ty's personality resembled her age. She is 17, going on 18, when the book first starts and she acts like a teenager, which is nice. I feel like author's try to make teenagers too adult now days and it isn't realistic. Also, by the end of the book, I was surprised by who the killer was. And that rarely happens.

With that gush finished, I do have several issues I had with this book. First being, WHY IS IT ALWAYS CANDY?! I feel like there is always a cutesy little candy combo added to so many of theses books and this is one of them. Tobey is the son of the owner of the Yankees who his father and Ty's have been trying to get together. Now, without giving spoliers, I am going to say this. Tobey is a jerk at the start, but he is 17, most guys are at that age. My problem is with the other reviews saying he was a prick. And yes, he makes some mistakes by the end of the book, but as a character he was great. Stop hating on Tobey! My major issue with this book, though, was the fact that it was supposed to be a suspense book, with the murders and stuff, and it wasn't really. It mentions the death and extra secruity occasionally, but not enough. It focused on the relationship more than the mystery and I would have liked a lot more mystery out of this book. And I know I said I loved Chase, and I do, I really really do. But toward the later part of the book he goes through a major change and that I didn't like. There wasn't enough character development for the new Chase as there should have been. Also, the first part of the book was amazing, where as the second part was kind of not. Part of me felt it could have been two books, because maybe she didn't put as much of an effort into the second part, but it just fell kind of flat for me.

Overall I gave this book 4 out of 5 Stars. Even though I didn't love the second part of the book as much as the first, I still loved the book as a whole. It was such a great quailty NA book and it kind of pains me that it doesn't get the same love as Colleen Hoover's books, which if you read my other reviews, aren't always that great. In my opinion the writing is so much better. I am not trying to bash Hoover here, just trying to give Torre the credit she very much deserves.
Find Alessandra Torre online:
Buy Moonshot online:
Goodreads | Kindle | Barnes&Noble |

Playlist:






2/17/18

Stacking the Shelves



Weekly meme hosted over at Tynga's Reviews

This is for the past 2 weeks, because I forgot about this. But the cool thing is the majority of these books I got at the Dollar Tree! Like the Manners and Mutiny I got there and it is a hardback autographed copy! As a matter of fact, the only one I didn't get from the dollar tree is The Glittering Court.


Books I Bought:
272725061873328820805727187257422328165220944389








.





1/27/18

Stacking The Shelves



Weekly meme hosted over at Tynga's Reviews

Long time since I have done one of these. I have been out of the reading game for some time, but here are the books I did get this week.


Books I Bought:

274053511718212622609080
271906137821892

EARCs:

35411583



Goodreads Links:

Now I know I have already put As I Darken on a STS, but that was an ebook and they had a hardback physical copy at BAM for $4, and I wasn't about to pass that up. I also have had After We Fell and I gave my other copy away, because I didn't feel I was ever going to finish it. Then I really wanted to and it was also about $4 at BAM.